Australian National Championships (incorporating Individual Closed Event and Ede Clendinnen Shield Team Event)

Written by  Wednesday, 16 September 2015 00:00

Senior Nationals incorporating the Ede Clendinnen Shield (Team event) and Australian Closed Championships (Individual event).

2017 Australian National Championships

Host Association: Badminton Victoria

Venue: MSAC, Victoria

Individual Dates: 26th - 28th Feb 17

Team Event Dates: 1st - 4rd Mar 17

Tournament Director: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Tournament Referee: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Deputy Referee: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Phone: 03 9686 4777

Tournament Software

2017 Li-Ning Clendinnen Shield

2017 Li-Ning Australian National Championships

2017 Li-Ning Clendinnen Carnival - Newsletter 2

2017 Li-Ning Clendinnen Shield – Entry Information

2017 Li-Ning Australian National Championships – Entry Information

2017 Li-Ning Clendinnen Shield – Team Resources

Team Information Sheet Template

Team List Template

Player Ranking List Template

Team Player Profile Template

Cliff Cutt Memorial Trophy

At the end of each Clendinnen Carnival, the Cliff Cutt Memorial trophy is presented. This trophy is awarded to the player of a State/Territory team who exhibits the highest standards sportsmanship, personality, court demeanor, playing ability and appearance throughout the tournament.

Ede Clendinnen Shield - History

The Ede Clendinnen teams event is Australia’s senior event. It is usually hosted in late August / early September each year, has a maximum of eight State/Territory Teams. This interstate teams competition is followed by an individual tournament.

It has a significant history. Reginald Ede Clendinnen, with the support of Victorians Harold Wray and Alf Lennard, decided to start an official interstate series in 1935, the year the Australian Badminton Association was formed (previously there had been a series of interstate competitions from 1929 – 1934). Clendinnen donated the shield for the teams competition, with the three states of Victoria, Tasmania and South Australia contesting the event. The competition has continued till today with only a short break from 1940 – 1946.

When the original shield was completely filled with the winners names, the Hon. Roy Ward donated a second shield perpetuating the name “Clendinnen”. The original shield hangs in the headquarters of the Badminton Association of Western Australia.

Clendinnen was a significant person in Australian Badminton. He was born in New Zealand, Badminton Tasmania President in 1930 and 1931 and in 1933 he became a life member of the Tasmanian Badminton Association. Clendinnen was also the founding President of the Australian Badminton Association in 1935.

Download Ede Clendinnen History of Winners document.

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Sponsors & Partners